Designing a Cover

 

When designing the cover I wanted to have a very strong picture on the front, this would draw people in to look at the rest of the photos, I was thinking about Steve Mccurray while picking this photo, I think his photographs are so striking and really draw the audience in so I wanted to use a photo with good eye contact so the photo is straight away connecting with you. I also wanted the photo to be full of bold colour, while i have been away to Aisa I have found this colour the most striking every time. It is the deep orange used by monks in SE Asia and in india it is also a very holy colour, it is the colour of the flowers that are layer on Ganesh’s shrine everyday to ask for good luck.

I decided to keep the back simple with a landscape piece because I didn’t want the cover to be too overpowering with too much intensity. I Had wanted to use this photo in the book but I found that there were so many portraits i wanted to use I didn’t want to space a page to it. I think it gives another viewpoint to the book, leaving a photo of the village with no one in it, after a book of portraits it is a good photo to reflect on because it shows a beautiful but normal view of India. The material in it shows how The people of India create this bright colourful landscape themselves by covering themselves in colour and the world around them. I think the photo also because it has lots of hints of humanity within it, the motorbike and the cloth represents the men and women within the book in a simple way. I feel like it brings the book to an end because it looks like the people have left the scene and gone for a nap or something leaving you back outside their house.

I chose the font after trying out lots of fonts and different places to put them. I knew i wanted a font that was bit too simple or modern. I wanted the font to capture the history of India and the ornate culture, I chose a font the had differentiating sizes and looked good enough to represent the book, not too fancy that it would look ridiculous. I upped the fonts size so that it would stand out on the cover. At first i had the font very small and was trying to put it into a corner but I realised that the font should cover the man slightly and the font should be strong across him.

Leave a comment